The Green Place

I found this video as I was looking through my iPhoto library for inspiration on something to write, and when I watched it, I realized that I don’t need to write much for you to take something away from the three minutes of greenery: I talk, the entire time, about the place where I’m sitting throughout the video. It’s a plank in a tree in my old front yard in Montana that my dad built for my sister and me when I was eleven—so ten years ago—and in the video I talk about why it’s so special. What I say is now funny, sweet, and sad to me all at once.

There was once a zip-line that ran from the plank to the now-fallen playhouse in the distance, which is why I talk about broken arms. I took the (very rough) footage to remind myself of Montana—it was the last time I was there. Almost two years have passed since then, and I’ve forgotten how GREEN Montana gets in June!

I have always loved to sit and read by a creek or a river or in my plank in the tree, because I deeply enjoy being able to look up, allow the stunning and peaceful surroundings to soak my senses, and plunge back into what I’m reading. As I say in the video, I did this a lot there on the plank. Enjoy this little piece of my childhood, this place that inspired me so, and think about your own treasured places: what area gave, or gives, you the most inspiration to both read and write? I would love to hear your stories!

 

Laura

 

8 thoughts on “The Green Place

  1. Believe it or not, my favorite place to read or write is the glider rocking chair that Mormor and Poppy purchased for us when you were an infant. Not only have I spent hours with you and your sister in that chair, I’ve spent hours with my ‘brain babies’ as well ;). Anywhere outside with my family or my camera seems to start my creative juices flowing (but Montana is definitely my favorite place!).

  2. A great place to write was a cottage I stayed in a few years ago – right on the coastal path and you could hear the waves from indoors. I live about as far from a beach as you can get in the UK, so being by the sea is special.

    • That sounds so lovely. I can remember wishing I could be near the sea when I lived in Montana, even though I loved it there! There’s something infinitely calming about the sound of waves. Thank you for sharing! πŸ˜€

  3. I used to read in a tree too. I could sit up there and let my imagination go far beyond what I could see while the breeze rocked me gently. My parents are moving from that house and I will miss my tree, even after being gone all those years. As a child I wrote under the covers with a flashlight because I couldn’t go to sleep until I wrote something down that was zipping around the corners of my mind. Weirdly, as a busy mom, I compose stories, or at least the beginnings, in the shower! Crazy, I know, but it’s where I have some quiet and can think! πŸ™‚
    Your video made me nostalgic, and I’ve never lived in Montana, but we spent 12 years in our last home too, and I miss the beauty!

  4. I can see the shower becoming a place of solace once one has children! πŸ˜‰ Thank you–your tree haven sounds wonderful. I love gentle breezes. I’m glad my video reminded you of your special place, and thank you for sharing on this post! πŸ˜€

  5. I don’t think I have a favorite place to read or write, as long as I’m comfortable and away from distractions. Outside in a peaceful place, on a park bench, in my room with some good classical music, or on my bed (but then I run the risk of falling asleep!). This video brought me right back to Montana and I can’t belive that we’ll never live there again! It made me feel like it was still our house. I could hear the sadness in your voice, mixed with joy of fun times. πŸ™‚

    • πŸ™‚ I can’t do either on my bed too comfortably because the comfiest way to ‘be’ on a bed is lying down…but I love to be outside and away from distractions. And never say never—maybe you’ll end up living there in forty years! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

